Daily Updates!

October 8, 2008 at 10:03 pm 1 comment

*****************************************************************************

Redeem the Archuleta Drop!!!!!!!!!!! (Updated: October 8th, 2008)

(Up  one place D : Last Place- #15)

Crush-Song: #14 Top Songs Chart on Itunes

(Down three places 😦 : Last place- #7)

Crush-Video: #10 Top Videos Chart on Itunes

(Up TWELVE places D : Last Place #15)

Crush-Video: #3 on VH1 Top 20 Countdown

(Down eighteen places : Last place #4)

Light On: #22 Top Songs Chart On Itunes

I’ll try to get up the Amazon, etc. listings here soon!!!

*****************************************************************************

Wow. Light On has already fallen below Crush. It’s okay though. Light On is a good song, so please don’t criticize it 🙂 . We got to get the Crush Video back up though!!!!!

t

Interview! Interview!

Archuleta Talks Clay, Crushes and Cook

You have quite the future ahead of you. Is college part of that journey?
College would be really important if things kind of slowed down for me. I’d always want to do music, but if music doesn’t work out, you definitely need education as a back up. Music careers don’t usually last forever. Something I’ve always been interested in is the ear, nose [and] throat doctor thing, just because it’d be cool to help people who’ve had problems with their voice. I’ve had a lot of problems with my voice in the past. It’s a lot of schooling, but it’s something I’ve found interest in. When you’re 17 it’s not like, “This is what my life is.” You’re still trying to figure it out, as a person.

David Archuleta

Frazer Harrison,Getty
American Idol‘ runner-up David Archuleta has been an awfully busy guy. Fresh off the ‘Idol’ tour, the 17-year-old singer has released his first single and video (‘Crush‘), filmed a guest spot on the television show ‘iCarly’ and got the golden ticket of an invite to Miley Cyrus‘ recent Disneyland Sweet 16. As if that weren’t enough, Archuleta is putting the final touches on his debut album. Archuleta took a break from recording to talk to PopEater about his career plans, Clay Aiken, crazy fans and more.
Many ‘American Idol’ alums have gone on to have bountiful careers. Is there one in particular you aspire to have?
Jordin [Sparks] — her being my age — I really look up to her. I think her journey’s been the most similar to mine. She’s an amazing singer, and her style … she understood that she was young and didn’t have to run with a certain type of music so quickly. She allowed herself to have some space, some growing. That’s really cool of her.
What do you have planned as far as your album is concerned?
What we’ve been trying to do is keep a nice mixture of songs, so I don’t limit myself too much. It had to be done so quickly. People can take a year sometimes, just working on songs and thinking, “OK, what direction do I want to go on this album?” I knew had a few months, and those months were taken up doing a tour, so it was interesting trying to juggle both of those things at once. When I’d have a day off, I’d go record. But I don’t want to keep myself limited with this album.
Have you heard from your former ‘Idol’ competition, David Cook, about your
single, ‘Crush’?

He liked it. He was like, “Your single sounds awesome.” He sent me a text when he first heard it. On tour, everyone would be singing it, joking around. I was just like, [laughs] “Stop!”

What do you think of David Cook’s new single, ‘Light On‘?
I love it! He played us a few songs during tour and it sounded so good. I bought it the first day [it was released]. I’m a big fan of Cook. He’s been a really great guy through this whole thing. He’s always looked after me on tour and on the show, and he’s always giving great advice.

Who was your first celebrity or real-life crush?
I’ve always been kind of weird about the celebrity thing because it’s like, how do you like someone who you’ve never met? It’s just kind of weird for me. But I guess people feel like they get to know their celebrity crushes. I know there are a lot of fans that feel that way with me! [laughs] It’s so weird how people can get with that kind of stuff. I’ve always felt like I was too young. It’s like, “You’re not old enough to have a girlfriend.” But lately, it’s been about getting to know the person. There are some people who I definitely want to get to know better.
Have you ever read any of the fan fiction stories written about you?
I’ve actually never gone on the message boards. I’ve always thought it was good to stay away from that kind of stuff. Like, I read my comments on MySpace and the voice messages and the blog comments, but that’s as far as I’ll go. I’m a little scared.
What was your reaction to fellow ‘Idol’ Clay Aiken’s decision to come out?
I didn’t really think about it a whole lot. Entertainment stuff bugs me so much — they’re just so interested in other people’s lives. Whatever, it’s his life. You have to respect … how he lives.
In the corn maze that’s based on you in Utah, they cut ‘Archuleta 4 President.’ If you were President, what would you do?
Try and change those poor areas in America. We’re always thinking, “Oh, the third world countries,” but there’s some areas in our country where it’s really sad. I don’t think a lot of Americans realize what’s really going on. It’d be kind of cool to help fix up those areas — help some of our people who aren’t getting a lot of recognition to live better lives.
If you were old enough to vote, who would you vote for in the upcoming presidential election?
I haven’t done a lot of studying on that just because I’m not old enough, and especially since I’ve been working on the album during all the debates. So I don’t really know a whole lot. I just hear about all the YouTube Sarah Palin stuff. I feel bad for her.
Given your age. do you plan on going to your high school prom?
Well, at my school it’s a junior prom, and I’m a senior. But they have senior ball at my school. I kind of missed the whole prom experience, but that’s fine. I mean, it’s like, would I rather be at prom or would I rather be on [‘American Idol’]?
What’s the first thing you’d do if you could travel without parental supervision?
With the ‘American Idol’ experience, I had to have a guardian. It was like the rules for a minor to have a guardian with you all the time. Now that the show’s over, I pretty much can do whatever. I guess [I’d do] the same stuff as now. [My parents] are pretty easy-going. They’ve never been really strict on me, but they still helped raise me to who I am. They trust me to do whatever I want because it’s not like I’m gonna go do weird, absurd, crazy things.
Do you speak Spanish well, and would you consider making a Spanish
language record?

Oh, yeah. With my grandma — who doesn’t speak a whole lot of English — I speak Spanish to her. I’m not the greatest person at the world at speaking that, and sometimes I have issues understanding. But when I was little, it was my first language. When I moved to Utah, I kind of forgot everything. I’ve actually definitely considered doing a Spanish album just because it’s been so much a part of my life, even musically. My mom always played salsa and merengue. It’d just be really cool to give back to that part of my culture because they’ve done so much for me.
What is your biggest fear?
Responsibility, I guess, because [fans] are just wanting you to do your best. You want to do your best for them and also for your family. I just don’t want to let them down. That’s one of my biggest fears — to disappoint people. But there will always be someone who’ll be disappointed in whatever you do. Phobias … I don’t like needles. It’s something I definitely could get over, but I just hate them.

Woah! That’s huge! But a wonderful interview 🙂 . David is getting more comfortable to speak more his mind on different subjects, you can even tell from this written interview. Keep at it David!! 😀

t

The Archuleta’s spend a fun-filled day at the happiest place on Earth 🙂

*Faint*

It really IS the Happiest Place On Earth eh????

If you were wondering, these are new pictures from his myspace. The fam looks so cute together 😀 !

t

The video that was unavailable to “Out-Of-US” Archies, Fanblast has kindly uploaded to Youtube for us!!!

YAY FANBLAST!

t

The Newest Popular Info exposed to the Archulater World:

Off of FansOfDavid:

BIG DAY for David…Entertainment Weekly is reporting that David has signed with Azoff Management, a MAJOR force in the entertainment industry. BIG thanks to Robin for the find.

**New info from overnight in bold…

Entertainment Weekly (front page, slide one)

David Archuleta has signed with Azoff Management, the career-launching (and often sustaining) music powerhouse that counts The Eagles, Christina Aguilera, Neil Diamond, and, most recently, Morrissey among its clients. But that doesn’t mean young Archie, last season’s American Idol runner-up, will forgo his dad’s guidance from here on out. The reportedly difficult Jeff Archuleta will co-manage his son’s music career along with Azoff’s Jared Paul, who steers the pop ship for artists like Nick Lachey and New Kids on the Block.

19 Entertainment gets first dibs on Idol finalists for management, but the company apparently passed on Archuleta, while signing winner David Cook (a 19 representative declined to comment). Still, Archuleta remains on the 19 Recordings roster, and the company is intimately involved in overseeing his first album, which is due out Nov. 11. David Cook’s debut will drop a week later.

Article link here

So, let’s discuss. You can find information on Irving Azoff at Wikipedia and at AOL Music.

This firm will be responsible for everything from publicity and PR to schedule management and endorsement (Target? Dasani?) and beyond. The artists’ management is VERY different from the record label.  Jive/Zomba/SonyBMG is David’s record company.  They are responsible for putting together the record, distributing it and promoting it (to a degree).  They are not responsible for David, per se.  That is why many/most artists and entertainers sign with management companies and have managers.  An artist’s manager is responsible for the artist, not the artist’s product.

From Wikipedia:

A talent manager, also known as a artist manager, is an individual or company who guides the professional career of artists in the entertainment industry. The responsibility of the talent manager is to oversee the day-to-day business affairs of an artist; advise and counsel talent concerning professional matters, long-term plans and personal decisions which may affect their career.

The roles and responsibilities of a talent manager vary slightly from industry to industry, as do the commissions to which the manager is entitled. For example, a music manager’s duties differ from those managers who advise actors, writers, or directors. A manager can also help artists find an agent, or help them decide when to dump their current agent and identify who to select as a new agent. Talent agents have the authority to make deals for their clients while managers usually can only informally establish connections with producers and studios, but do not have the ability to negotiate contracts.

ETA from overnight:

  • Here is a blog (note: this is a blog, but one posted on Yahoo so there’s some credibility) about Irving Azoff’s power in the music industry.  Very interesting…
  • This is also a blog from Scorpions fans (yes, The Scorpions are still around for those of you children of the 80’s) who were contacted by Irving Azoff to help with their tour.  Note that this is not the band themselves, but a fansite such as FOD.  Thanks thinkofmearchie!

Thank Goodness for the explanation! So I guess David is now part of a managing company and record company. That’s amazing!!!!! Now I’m guessing promos will be shooting out more and more as October Fever hits in…and no, not Halloween Fever.

That makes me wonder…what do you think David will dress up as for Halloween???

Enjoy the daily updates! We will now be speculating on what David will be for Halloween!!! 😀

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Please don’t call this lame.. Watch these…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  October 9, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Thanks for the pictures=) It’s always heartwarming to see the Archuletas together but I’m missing Mama Lupe=(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


PROMOTE DAVID! (David Archuleta’s Street Team)

Blog Stats

  • 14,992 hits

Chart Listings-Updated October 23rd, 2008

VH1 Listings Added! More Cook stats added! Amazon.com Stats added! Billboard Stats added! ********************************* Crush-Song: #17 Top Songs Chart on Itunes *********************************** Crush-Video: #17 Top Videos Chart on Itunes *********************************** **Crush-Video: #1 on VH1 Top 20 Countdown!!!** ************************************** Light On: “Has Fallen Off the Charts!”: Top Songs Chart On Itunes ************************************** Time of My Life: #78 Top Songs Chart on Itunes ************************************* Amazon Listings: #12 in MP3 Songs-Crush.... #9 in MP3 Songs>Pop-Crush.... #33 in Music>Pop>Vocal Pop-Album.... ************************************* Billboard Listings: This Week: #21.... Last Week: #22.... Peak: #2.... I’ll try to get up other listings here soon!!!
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

